Presidential Address at WSA Research Anthology

The set up I’d created to take pictures and video as a trial now exhibited in Winchester Gallery.

Issue of Copy Rights:

The Gallery has no procedure to deal with  copy rights and other issues arrising from filming at the exhibition.

I contacted the ‘Own It’ website (linked to London College of Communication ) and explained the situation: Filming people for installation art:

I am an artist and I have created an installation in which the public or audience is invited to participate and filmed or photographed by me (the artist). See file att. 1 for an example.

The post production of the films or videos is also done by me, resulting in artwork I use for exhibitions and on Youtube for instance. See att. 2

I would like to clearify who owns what:
the participants: do they need to sign a ‘release of copyright’ form? So I can use the photos and videos in my artwork, installations, exhibitions, publications.

many thanks
Walter van Rijn

Own-it replied on 12.05.09
What fun. I don’t see any problem in using these. The participants do not have any copyright in their own image so do not need to sign copyright release forms. As they have agree to paricipate they will not be able to claim breach of privacy though to be clear you might want to tell them what the work is to be used for and either ask them to sign a brief model release or simply explain by way of a notice that you always display prominently, what the work will be used for and that they should not participate if they object to any of these uses. I hope that is helpful.

I decided to print a ‘release form’ and display it at the exhibition, to be signed by the participants who are videod. The connections between artist-art-audience in a legal framework .

Release form

Video recording or photographing:
‘Presidential Address’ by Walter van Rijn
Location:     Installation at the Winchester Gallery.
Time:     12 – 29 May 2009

I hereby consent to the photographing of myself and the recording of my voice and the use of these photographs and/or recordings singularly or in conjunction with other photographs and/or recordings for research, artwork and related advertising, publicity, commercial or non-commercial purposes. I understand that the term “photograph” as used herein encompasses both still photographs and motion picture footage.

I further consent to the reproduction and/or authorisation to reproduce and use, by the artist Walter van Rijn, of said photographs and recordings of my voice, for use in any manner and medium, worldwide. I understand that the artist might publish said photographs and recordings with a Creative Commons license. To view these licenses go to:
http://creativecommons.org/about/licenses

I hereby release  Walter van Rijn and his legal representatives and assigns from all claims  and liability relating to said photographs and recordings.

If Model is under 18: I, ____________________, am the parent/legal guardian of the individual named above, I have read this release and approve of its terms.

I have read this release and approve  of its terms,

Print Name:     ___________________________

Signature:     ___________________________

Date:         ___________________________

I would like to stay informed of any exhibition or publication containing photographs and recordings of myself.  Email: ___________________________________________________

[.................................................]

