What is the relation between documentation and artwork?

The boundary between documents and art objects is very fluent. During the conference (WSA March 2008) I realised that very often when artists present documents it is seen as ‘artwork’, or artists use it almost automatically as artwork. I would like to question that. For me the drawings I presented in the exhibition are still documents, elements that might become part of an artwork, which I locate in a network of relationships between art object and the wider context. This layer of my work wasn’t present at the Gallery, which meant I was quite apprehensive to show it as it was.

PhD exhibition view, 03-2008

PhD exhibition view, 03-2008

[.................................................]

